This project is read-only.

Speeding Up Remote Server Access

Jan 3, 2011 at 6:17 AM

This may be more of an Entity Framework question than an nHydrate question per se, but I thought I'd try here first since I'm using nHydrate in the project. As you'll see from the question I am not an expert in either EF or nHydrate. In fact, I'm working on my first project using either.

I've written an app for a small database (7 tables, less than 300 records -- none larger than a few hundred bytes each -- in all the tables; the largest table has only 249 records). Running against SqlServer 2008 locally it's quite snappy. But running against a remote hosted database it's quite slow on startup. After that, it's similarly snappy.

While there aren't a lot of records in the database, there are a number of relationships in it which I access repeatedly. Something tells me that I'm being sloppy in the way I'm accessing stuff, causing far more round trips to the server than I really need to. It feels like if I could simply download all the data into the eight tables at once and cache the results I'd be a lot better off.

So... what are best practices as regards minimizing server hits so far as using Entity Framework/nHydrate against a remote server?

- Mark

Jan 3, 2011 at 5:46 PM
Edited Jan 3, 2011 at 5:48 PM

You can lazy load or eager load in EF. When using nHydrate and walking relationships you are lazy loading so there are multiple round trips. If you wish to minimize database access look at eager loading with EF. The nHydrate syntax is a little better than standard EF in that you can specify walks with LINQ instead of strings. So if you wanted to walk all order for loaded customers and wanted to do this in one call your syntax would be something like this. This assume you have a Customer and related Order table. The "Include" method will ensure that there is a single database call.

using (AAAEntities context = new AAAEntities())

{