Update a single entity

Jul 16, 2012 at 8:39 PM
Edited Jul 17, 2012 at 7:01 PM

I am new to Entity Framework Model and nHydrate.

However, I have generated my EFDAL from my database design.  I can see you can save all changes by calling EFDAL.MyEntities.SaveChanges().

Is it possible to update/save a single entity without saving all of the data?  Is there a method I can call to do this?

Thanks for any help.

Andez 

Coordinator
Jul 17, 2012 at 5:29 PM

Yes there is a static method on the entity object where you can set 1 property on any number of rows with a Where statement. Below is an example of setting the Employee object's Dept field to a new value. Where it used to be "q", it will be reset to "w".

Acme.MyTest.EFDAL.Entity.Employee.UpdateData(x=>x.dept, x=>x.dept == "q", "w");

The caveat is that this only works for 1 field. You will need one line of code for each field set because it is a lamba statement with a single field.

Jul 17, 2012 at 7:29 PM

Hi,

Thanks for that.

Given that example, if there were a number of Employees with "q" as the department, would it set all of them to "w"?

As for my scenario, a user can create or edit a single entity in a single tab which contains it's property fields in the UI.  The user can click a save button to save the selected tab or save all to save all modified entities.

Whilst there is a static UpdateData, there is no equivalent static InsertData, so I cannot fulfill the above functionality by means of the Save click.

I was hoping that there would be a save method you could call on a entity instance, or a static save method where you could pass the entity reference.

Any other thoughts?

Thanks,

Andez

Coordinator
Jul 19, 2012 at 2:09 AM