TinyInt to SmallInt primary keys change

Jan 19, 2013 at 10:57 AM

Hello everybody,

I am new to nHydrate and yesterday I noticed something on which I would like to ask your advice.

I had a few entities with a tinyint Id field as primary key, which i thought had been also an identity (autoincrement by the database). These Id's were refernced in other tables as foreign keys through associations I had implemented in the model. Yesterday I discovered that tinyint cannot become identities in nHydrate (I was surprised, but I found out it is indeed documented). I had to change all my tinyint PK's to smallint, and then do the same for the associated FK's. When I tried to run the Install project to update my database, I got the errors that the PK's are used and cannot be dropped. I went back to the model, and deleted and recreated all the associations. However the installation kept giving those errors. I ended up creating a new database from scratch.

My question is: Is there a recommended procedure for this kind of changes? I would expect to have a problem from the SQL Server side if I tried to change a smallint to tinyint (possible loss of data) but not when increasing the size of a field. How are these cahnges treated by the nHydrate database updating engine?

Thanks,

Alex 

Coordinator
Jan 20, 2013 at 2:24 AM
Edited Jan 20, 2013 at 2:24 AM

In the next version of the product there will be a refactor rule added that will change a primary key's data type. This will walk all relations and change the necessary fields as well. An upgrade script will be automatically generated to apply these changes to your database. For now this will only work for single column primary keys. Your life just got a little bit easier.

Jan 20, 2013 at 8:21 AM

That will be really great! 

Two minor questions: